List of all Prime Ministers of India (1947-2024)

List of all Prime Ministers of India: Narendra Modi is the current and 14th Prime Minister of India. He will be the fourth Indian Prime Minister to continue serving two consecutive terms in office and the first non-Congress Prime Minister to do so. In this editorial, we have listed all the Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2024.

Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first Prime Minister, was appointed on August 15, 1947, and Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current Prime Minister of India. PM of India list holds importance for the General Awareness section of all types of competitive exams and the Political System section of UPSC exams.

Prime Ministers of India List (1947-2024)

In 77 years of independence, India has had 19 prime ministers. In this post, we have mentioned the list of all the Prime Ministers of India whose tenure started from 1947 to 2024. The list of Prime Ministers of India along with the period for which they served in office is given below.

Read also – List of Domestic and International Airports in India 2024

Prime Minister NamePeriodBirth-Death
Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru15th Aug 1947- 27th May 1964(1889–1964)
Gulzarilal Nanda27th May 1964- 9th Jun 1964(1898–1998)
Lal Bahadur Shastri9th June 1964 -11th January 1966(1904–1966)
Gulzarilal Nanda11th January 1966- 24th January 1966(1898-1998)
Indira Gandhi24th January 1966- 24th March 1977(1917–1984)
Morarji Desai24th March 1977- 28th July 1979(1896–1995)
Charan Singh28th July 1979- 14th January 1980(1902–1987)
Indira Gandhi14th January 1980- 31st October 1984(1917–1984)
Rajiv Gandhi31st October 1984- 2nd December 1989(1944–1991)
Vishwa Pratap Singh2nd December 1989- 10th November 1990(1931–2008)
Chandra Shekhar10th November 1990-21st June 1991(1927–2007)
P. V Narasimha Rao21st June 1991- 16th May 1996(1921–2004)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee16th May 1996-1st June 1996(1924-2018)
H. D Deve Gowda1st June 1996- 21st April 1997(Born 1933)
Inder Kumar Gujral21st April 1997- 18th March 1998(1919–2012)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee18th March 1998- 22nd May 2004(1924-2018)
Dr Manmohan Singh22nd May 2004 -17th May 2014(Born 1932)
Narendra Modi26th May 2014 -23rd May 2019(Born 1950)
Narendra Modi30th May 2019 – Present(Born 1950)

The first Prime Minister of India

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India and was a representative of the Indian National Congress. After India’s independence, on August 15, 1947, Jawaharlal Nehru became the first Prime Minister of India. He served as Prime Minister from August 15, 1947, to April 15, 1952.

List of Prime Ministers of India – Important Points

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the Indian government. The Prime Minister has a major role in serving the country. The powers and duties of the Prime Minister of India are given below:

  • The Prime Minister holds the position of Prime Minister and chairs Cabinet meetings.
  • The country’s Prime Minister represents the nation while attending any high-level international conferences.
  • He proposes the names of members of his political party to the president to appoint them as ministers.
  • He has direct control and authority over the work of Cabinet Ministers.


Who is the first female Prime Minister of India?

Indira Gandhi was India’s first and so far only female Prime Minister.

Who was the first Prime minister of India?

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India.

Who is the longest-serving Prime Minister of India?

Jawaharlal Nehru remains India’s longest serving Prime Minister.

Leave a Comment